Services in-person & online at 8:30 and 11:00am at Florida's Oldest United Methodist Church

John A. Hoefflin Scholarship


John A. Hoefflin
March 5, 1908 – August 30, 1997

Mr. Hoefflin gave leadership on every major committee in the life of the church, including serving as chairman of the Administrative Board and Superintendent of Sunday Schools. For forty nine years he was one of the teachers of the Wesley Fellowship Sunday School Class. He was born in Louisville, Kentucky on March 5, 1908 and attended school at both the University of Louisville and Tulane University.

He came to Pensacola as the manager of the Greyhound Bus Station, but then went to work for the Fisher-Brown Insurance Company where he was employed for forty nine years and retired as Executive Vice-President. He and his first wife, Iris, had four girls, all of whom grew up in First Church and were married in the sanctuary. He and his wife, Elizabeth, lived in Pensacola beginning in 1989. They enjoyed a busy life of service and a growing family of eleven grandchildren and seven great-grandchildren. He served as a member of the “Committee of One Hundred” of Emory University’s Candler School of Theology, and always encouraged young people in their pursuit of higher education, thus the reason for this scholarship.


1993 Carlye Shaw
1994 Amanda Oman
1995 Chelsa Vititow
1997 Robin Mohanco
1998 Mary Alice Boutin
1999 Mark Greunke
2000 Jay Armstrong
2001 Erin Thompson
2002 David Cripe
2003 Betsy Whitehurst
2004 Elizabeth Ann Hooks
2005 Trent Hurd
2006 Michael Rogers
2007 Nick Noyes
2008 Ashton Mitchell
2010 Robert Varnson
2011 Rebecca Phipps
2012 Jason Feliciano
2013 Rebecca Anne Farr
2014 Preston Jones


Add a Comment